8 national awards for 22nd Century Media

Published on July 1, 2018 | 4:26 pm CDT

For the fifth year in a row, 22nd Century Media has won at least five national journalism awards.

This year, 2017, the awards include four first-place honors, the most in company history.

22nd Century Media earned eight awards in total, ranging from best sports writing to best health reporting to best feature photography. The company has won 42 national awards since it started competing in 2013. Prior to then, 22CM publications won more than 100 state awards in five years of Illinois Press Association competition.

“We’ve been built from the ground up, and that ground has been high-quality community journalism,” Publisher Joe Coughlin said. “That we’ve been consistently recognized for the work by our industry peers is a testament to dozens of people’s commitment to informing our readers with integrity and creativity.”

22nd Century Media publications competed among hundreds of newspapers and 1,433 entries from across the country. Judging was performed primarily by active community newspaper editors and publishers, as well as retired university journalism professors and retired or former newspaper professionals.

Winners of the 2017 NNA Better Newspaper Contest will be celebrated Oct. 6 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

Established in 1885, the National Newspaper Association is the voice of America’s community newspapers and is the one of the largest newspaper associations in the country.

National Honors

22CM publications awarded eight times by National Newspaper Association

• The Orland Park Prairie: FIRST PLACE — Best Feature Photo

• The Wilmette Beacon: FIRST PLACE — Best Sports Story

• The Northbrook Tower: THIRD PLACE — Best Serious Column

• The Northbrook Tower: SECOND PLACE — Best Health Story

• Malibu Surfside News: FIRST PLACE — Best Feature Photo

• Malibu Surfside News: FIRST PLACE — Best Sports Feature Story or Series

• The Mokena Messenger: SECOND PLACE — Best Performing Arts Story

• The Highland Park Landmark: HONORABLE MENTION — Best Sports Feature Story or Series

Press Releases